

2025 Hellman, Sicher, Graber Research Award Winners

The Council on Scientific Affairs (COSA) decided the winners of the Milo Hellman and Harry Sicher Research Awards as well as the Thomas M. Graber Awards of Special Merit at its January 2025 meeting. The winners will present their research at the 2025 AAO Annual Session.

The winners are:

Milo Hellman Research Award

Effects of Anti-Resorptive Drugs on Tooth Eruption: A Mouse Model Dr. Dooyeol Kim, DDS, MSD UT Houston Lecture Information: Friday, April 25, 2025 – 1:30pm – 1:50pm; Room PCC - 125

Harry Sicher Research Award

Novel Pathogenic Mutations Contributing to the Risk of Non-Syndromic Orofacial Clefts Dr. Waheed Awotoye, DDS, PhD University of Iowa Lecture Information: Friday, April 25, 2025 – 1:50pm – 2:10pm; Room PCC - 125

Thomas M. Graber Awards of Special Merit (next 4 titles)

Effects of Simulated Arch Constriction Upper Airway Function During Sleep: Randomized Cross Over Trial Dr. Da In Kim, DDS, MSc University of British Columbia Lecture Information: Friday, April 25, 2025 – 2:10pm – 2:30pm; Room PCC - 125

Bone Characterization in a Novel Dicer-Deficient Mouse Model Specific to Osteocytes Dr. Emelia Karkazis, DDS, MS University of Illinois-Chicago Lecture Information: Friday, April 25, 2025 – 2:30pm – 2:50pm; Room PCC - 125

Evaluation of Remineralization of White Spot Lesions w/Quercetin Nanoparticles An In vitro Study Dr. Brian Decker, BDS, MSc, MS Roseman University of Health Sciences Lecture Information: Friday, April 25, 2025 – 2:50pm – 3:10pm; Room PCC – 125

Mid-palatal Suture Assessment with Intraoral Ultrasonography Imaging Dr. Jennifer Xu, DDS, MS University of Michigan Lecture Information: Friday, April 25, 2025 – 3:10pm – 3:30pm; Room PCC - 125